Quantity Surveyor Section – Bill of Quantities

It is been eight days since my last post. I had other business responsibilities, as well. Now I can continue to write about this theme. I promised that I will continue to write about creating Bill of Quantities.

For those of you who are the pioneers in construction business and who do not know what is Bill of Quantities (BoQ), this is a document used in tendering in the construction industry in which materials, parts, and labor (and their costs) are itemized. It also (ideally) details the terms and conditions of the construction or repair contract and itemizes all work to enable a contractor to price the work for which he or she is bidding. Bills of quantities are prepared by quantity surveyors (quantities and costing) and building estimators (technically).

In NAV4Construction, we prepare BoQ for each project. We will find BoQ on Departments->Quantity Surveyor Section->Planning & Execution->Bill Of Quantity.

Image

We start with input ‘Job No.’ (created Project) and after that we continue with input of ‘Job Task’. Task is the smaller part of the projects. Usually, task is basic contract or contract annex or some claim… Combination of jobs and job tasks enables us many different BoQ with the same BoQ number. BoQ can be configured in different currencies, depend of project currency settings. On document header, we can link project fix cost definitions (I will detailed describe this in some later posts). After header data, in BoQ lines, we need to fill ‘Construction Position’ and its quantities by contract specification. About ‘Construction Positions’ calculation, I will write in next post.

‘Bill of Quantity’ has next statuses:

  • Opened: Status when we create new document. We can insert, modify and delete all data on header and lines.
  • Released: We get this status when we finish with data insert. In this status, nobody cannot insert, modify and delete any data. From this status, we can print ‘Quote’.
  • Accepted: This status said that contract is signed and after that all data are locked. This status is reserved only for users with specially rights.
  • In progress: We can get this status only from ‘Accepted’ status by users with specially rights. This status enables modify very small part of data if we need to change some articles in contract.

Will be continue…

26 thoughts on “Quantity Surveyor Section – Bill of Quantities

  1. 687175 194522Wow, superb weblog structure! How long have you been blogging for? you make blogging glance easy. The total look of your web site is excellent, neatly as the content material! 106186

  2. Hello, you used to write magnificent, but the last several posts have been kinda boring… I miss your great writings. Past few posts are just a bit out of track! come on!

    • Thanks for the compliments, and thanks also to the criticism. Criticism is always desirable. I will try that the next articles be a bit more interesting. Thanks.

  3. Really I would say that quantity surveyors are very useful for maintenance of property and its tax. Thanks to my surveyor who helped me depreciate my property tax.

  4. Someone essentially lend a hand to make severely articles I’d state. This is the very first time I frequented your website page and thus far? I surprised with the research you made to create this actual put up extraordinary. Excellent task!

  5. I simply want to say I’m very new to weblog and truly enjoyed your blog site. Almost certainly I’m going to bookmark your site . You definitely have tremendous articles. Cheers for sharing your blog site.

  6. I simply want to say I am newbie to blogs and definitely loved you’re web site. Probably I’m planning to bookmark your site . You certainly come with fantastic posts. Many thanks for sharing your web-site.

  7. Hurrah, that’s what I was looking for, what a stuff! existing here at this web site, thanks admin of this site.

  8. After study a few of the blog posts on your website now, and I truly like your way of blogging. I bookmarked it to my bookmark website list and will be checking back soon. Pls check out my web site as well and let me know what you think.

  9. single and multi working perfectly for me! cheers Fury

  10. This site was… how do I say it? Relevant!! Finally I’ve found something which helped me. Thank you!

  11. I really believe that a property foreclosure can have a significant effect on the borrower’s life. Foreclosures can have a 6 to ten years negative impact on a debtor’s credit report. A borrower who’s applied for a mortgage or any kind of loans for instance, knows that a worse credit rating is usually, the more hard it is for any decent mortgage loan. In addition, it may affect any borrower’s power to find a quality place to lease or hire, if that will become the alternative real estate solution. Thanks for your blog post.

  12. I want to to thank you for this very good read!
    ! I definitely loved every bit of it. I’ve got you bookmarked to check out new things you post…

  13. Pingback: Google

  14. Pingback: OLzcF6hDw3

  15. Pingback: OLzcF6hDw3 OLzcF6hDw3

  16. Dude. This blog is awesome! How do you make it look this good !

  17. What’s up, just wanted to tell you, I loved this article. It was funny. Keep on posting!

  18. Outstanding post however I was wondering if you could write a litte more on
    this topic? I’d be very grateful if you could elaborate a little bit more.
    Thanks!

  19. Attractive section of content. I just stumbled upon your site and
    in accession capital to assert that I acquire actually loved account
    your blog posts. Anyway I will be subscribing on your
    augment or even I fulfillment you access constantly rapidly.

  20. Good web site you have got here.. It’s difficult to find high quality writing like yours nowadays.
    I honestly appreciate people like you! Take care!!

  21. It’s nearly impossible to find educated people in this particular subject, but you seem
    like you know what you’re talking about! Thanks

  22. Can you tell us more about this? I’d care to find out some additional information.

  23. This is really fascinating, You’re an overly professional blogger.
    I have joined your rss feed and stay up for searching for more of your magnificent post.
    Also, I have shared your web site in my social networks

Leave a Reply

